Renewable Resources Councils are a primary instrument for local renewable resources management as set out in the final agreements. Each Renewable Resources Council, acting in the public interest and consistent with their Final Agreement may make recommendations to the Minister, the affected Yukon First Nation, the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and the Salmon Sub-Committee on any matter related to conservation of fish and wildlife. Each Renewable Resources Council makes provisions for public involvement in the development of its decisions and its recommendations.

The Council’s jurisdiction is the Ta’an Kwach’an Council Traditional Territory which includes the city of Whitehorse.

  • Authority: Ta’an Kwach’an Council Final Agreement, Chapter and 16.6.2
  • Type: advisory
  • Appointment process: ministerial
  • Requirements: All nominees must have resided in the Ta’an Kwach’an Council Traditional Territory or the Kwanlin Dun First Nation Traditional Territory for at least 1 year immediately prior to their appointment. Nominees should have long term familiarity with renewable resources in the Traditional Territory in which they reside. A temporary absence from Ta’an Kwach’an Council Traditional Territory or Kwanlin Dun First Nation Traditional Territory does not constitute an interruption of residency.
  • Term: 5 years
  • Meetings: second Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. for 3 to 4 hours
  • Department: Environment
  • Honoraria: $125 per day


Norm Adamson

Len Mychasiw

John LaVallee

Martin Slama

Justin Hooper

William Asp

Daniel Potvin (Alt-member)

Doris Anderson (Alt-member)




Laberge RRC

Phone: 867-393-3940, call to fax

3A Glacier Road, Whitehorse, Yukon, Y1A 5S7


Ph: 867.393.3940

Renewable Resources Councils

Board Meeting Schedule

Next Meeting

Oct 21-22, 2020

Zoom call-in meeting


View all Board Meetings


Recent Posts
  • Yukon fish and wildlife enhancement trust
  • Yukon Salmon Sub Committee
  • Renewable Resources Councils
  • Environment Yukon